Understanding Rabbinic Innovation: Five Sources of Law

Thursdays, June 20 and June 27

4-5:30pm ET | 3-4:30pm CT | 1-2:30pm PT

Taught by Laynie Soloman

Tuition info

Minhag, kra, svara, oh my! What are the five sources of law, and how do we recognize—and use—them? This workshop will deepen our understanding of the five sources described in the Talmud from which new laws or practices can be innovated. We’ll learn how these sources work in our texts and in real life, and we’ll reveal together how these sources reveal the Rabbis’ desire to empower us and create people-driven halakhic change.

Who is this space for?

Folks who have learned Talmud at SVARA (for example, in Queer Talmud for Beginner’s Mind) or attended the CRASH Talk.

Structure:

  • Two sessions and regular attendance is expected
  • No “homework” required between sessions
  • Includes breakout spaces
  • All learning materials will be provided in an online portal
  • Live captioning is available in the main Zoom space. If you would benefit from live captioning in breakout rooms, you can request it in our enrollment form!

Register here!

More Offerings