Upcoming Programs

There are many opportunities throughout the year to get some Talmud served up the old fashioned way—hardcore, queer, and radically inclusive—with SVARA! Check out what’s comin’ up at your favorite queer yeshiva, and we can’t wait to welcome to you to the SVARA bet midrash!


DROP-IN MISHNAH COLLECTIVE [online]

Daily (except Saturday) at 1:30 PM ET / 12:30 PM CT / 10:30 AM PT for 30 minutes | REGISTER HERE!

We meet daily to ground in this uncertain time in our practice of learning & studying in community, digging into a chunk of mishnah (y’all remember, Torah 2.0!) from Masechet Avot (also known as Pirkei Avot) each day with SVARA Faculty & your Queer Talmud comrades. **No prior Hebrew experience or learning necessary to participate!** Whether you can join every day, once a week, or once in a blue moon–we can’t wait to learn with you!


ELUL EXTRAVAGANZA [online]

We believe that learning Talmud, in chevruta and in community, has the power to open us to more love, more compassion, and more accountability in our lives. What better way to spend Elul than diving into the practice of Talmud study in a Queer-normative community?!

Join us for online batei midrash, led by SVARA faculty, Fellows, and grassroots leaders teaching locally in communities across the country and in Israel! Or grab a chevruta, grab our resource packet, and start getting in the mood for the Days of AWE-some!


HOW TO LEARN TALMUD [online]

Tuesday, August 25 at 8:00 PM ET / 7:00 PM CT / 5:00 PM PT
or Thursday, August 27 at 4:00 PM ET / 3:00 PM CT / 1:00 PM PT | REGISTER HERE!

Join SVARA for an online workshop that will support you on your journey to becoming what we call a “player,” someone empowered with the skills to play in and with the tradition. We highly recommend that folks join us for this workshop before attending a local bet midrash!

 


CRASH TALK WITH RABBI BENAY LAPPE [online]

Stay tuned for more dates about upcoming CRASH Talks. If you’d like to bring the CRASH Talk to your community (virtually), please be in touch with us!

The CRASH Talk is SVARA’s foundational philosophy of human change; a road-map through transformation–societal, religious, organizational, or personal; a core framework for understanding the Talmud and the rabbinic revolution that gave rise to it; and a way for us to understand the big questions of the moment.

No matter who we are, we’re collectively living through a moment of social and material transformation, and facing many unknowns as a society. At SVARA, CRASH theory helps us to orient ourselves in times of change, and to unpack our experiences in community. Whether you’re a SVARA newbie, or you’re a regular SVARA-nik, whether you’ve explored CRASH before, or this is your first time, we’d love to dive in and chart a path through the unknown together.


 

Want to bring SVARA-style learning to your community?! Fill out this form to get in touch with us!