Fall Zman 2021

Fall Zman runs from October 17th – December 9th. Below is what we’re cooking up for this season. If you’re looking for drop-in learning, one-off sessions, or other ways to connect to your Queer Talmud comrades, see our upcoming offerings. Not sure which is the right offering? Check out this flow chart!

Name
Times
Text
Queer Talmud for Beginner’s Mind: Section 1
Mondays
6:00-8:00 PM ET
Pikuach Nefesh: Preservation of Life
Queer Talmud for Beginner’s Mind: Section 2
Tuesdays
8:00-10:00 PM ET
Pikuach Nefesh: Preservation of Life
Mixed-Level Bet Midrash: Section 1
Mondays
8:00-10:00 PM ET
Lev Yodea Marat Nafsho
Mixed-Level Bet Midrash: Section 2
Tuesdays
6:00-8:00 PM ET
Ona’at Devarim
Mixed-Level Bet Midrash: Section 3
Wednesdays
4:00-6:00 PM ET
Lev Yodea Marat Nafso
Shiur for Experienced SVARA-niks
Wednesdays
8:00-9:30 PM ET
Text TBD: Stay Tuned!

REGISTRATION WILL OPEN THIS SUMMER

Class Descriptions:

Queer Talmud for Beginner’s Mind

Join SVARA for some Queer Talmud goodness specifically designed for folks who are new(er) to SVARA’s approach to Talmud study and want to learn in a queer-normative space!  The learning is rigorous, *and* the bet midrash environment is warm and supportive. Students are strongly encouraged to bring their real-life experiences to bear on the text and to share openly in a space that models queer culture and radical inclusion. In both sections, we’ll study a section of the Talmud in the *original language* (with no translations!) with a focus on skill-building (learning how to learn), the radical nature of the Jewish tradition, and the cultivation of Talmud study as a spiritual practice. Each weekly session will combine chevruta learning (learning in pairs) and collective unpacking of the text in shiur.

All you need in order to participate is the ability to sound out your alef-bet, and you’ll be reading from the daf (directly from the page of Talmud) in no time! If you’re still working on your alef-bet, check out these resources to support your learning. If you’ve never learned with SVARA before and are new to traditionally radical Talmud study, this learning experience is for you!

Section 1

Mondays, 6:00-8:00 PM ET | 5:00-7:00 PM CT | 3:00-5:00 PM PT

taught by Julie Batz

Section 2

Tuesdays, 8:00-10:00 PM ET | 7:00-9:00 PM CT | 5:00-7:00 PM PT

taught by Julie Batz

 

Mixed-Level Bet Midrash

In the Mixed-Level Bet Midrash, you’ll learn core texts from SVARA’s library that show how the Rabbis upgrade the tradition they’ve been given—so that we can do the same—and explore the tensions that arise when they, and we, pursue radical change. This learning space is for anyone—from beginners to advanced Talmudists—and will provide learners with the scaffolding and tools to be challenged at their own learning level in a rigorous and supportive environment. Each weekly session will combine chevruta learning (learning in pairs) and collective unpacking of the text in shiur as a large group.

Section 1: Lev Yodea Marat Nafsho

Mondays, 8:00-10:00 PM ET | 7:00-9:00 PM CT | 5:00-7:00 PM PT

taught by Rabbi Becky Silverstein

What happens when someone is sick on Yom Kippur? When and how do our individual experiences and intuitions override what’s written in the Torah? Through this specific case, the Talmud opens up questions about the trust that the rabbinic system puts in the individual to adjudicate best regarding their own experience, and explores who ultimately has authority over our experiences.

Section 2: Ona'at Devarim

Mondays, 8:00-10:00 PM ET | 7:00-9:00 PM CT | 5:00-7:00 PM PT

taught by Rabbi Bronwen Mullin

What is oppressive speech and how do we respond to it? What do we do when our lived experiences are not fully addressed by the tradition we’ve inherited? Through exploring the concept of ona’at devarim, “harmful speech,” we’ll uncover how the rabbis create new categories of life and practice as they build their Option 3 world.

Section 3: Lev Yodea Marat Nafsho

Wednesdays, 4:00-6:00 PM ET | 3:00-5:00 PM CT | 1:00-3:00 PM PT

taught by Rabbi Bronwen Mullin + Elaina Marshalek

What happens when someone is sick on Yom Kippur? When and how do our individual experiences and intuitions override what’s written in the Torah? Through this specific case, the Talmud opens up questions about the trust that the rabbinic system puts in the individual to adjudicate best regarding their own experience, and explores who ultimately has authority over our experiences..

 

Shiur for Experienced SVARA-niks

Experienced & advanced learning at SVARA is not about covering more—it’s about going deeper. Get ready to go deep, and take your learning to the next level with a weekly shiur that will focus on rigorous attention to details and radical attunement to letters and historical layers. You’ll be expected to prepare in chevruta for 1.5-2 hours in advance of our weekly shiur. This shiur is for serious, dedicated learners who have experience learning with SVARA, are very comfortable with SVARA’s method & approach to Talmud study, and are ready to maintain or significantly deepen their practice of learning with a chevruta. We strongly encourage you to sign up with a chevruta, and can provide chevruta matching as needed.

Text: Stay tuned!

Wednesdays, 8:00-9:30 PM ET | 7:00-8:30 PM CT | 5:00-6:30 PM PT

Stay tuned for more information about the teacher & text for this session!