Online Learning with SVARA

In this complex moment—and always—we rely on our traditions and practices to hold us and help us practice resilience and cultivate connection to each other. Below are several offerings that we are thrilled to serve up to y’all, our SVARA community, in this time. May our learning be in service of real tikkun, of bodies, hearts, minds, and systems.

CRASH Talk with Rabbi Benay Lappe

Tuesday, March 31 at 8:00 PM Eastern / 7:00 PM Central / 5:00 PM Pacific | REGISTER HERE

Join us for a participatory CRASH Talk with SVARA’s Rosh Yeshiva, Rabbi Benay Lappe! The CRASH Talk is SVARA’s foundational philosophy of human change; a road-map through transformation–societal, religious, organizational, or personal; a core framework for understanding the Talmud and the rabbinic revolution that gave rise to it; and a way for us to understand the big questions of the moment. No matter who we are, we’re collectively living through a moment of social and material transformation, and facing many unknowns as a society. At SVARA, CRASH theory helps us to orient ourselves in times of change, and to unpack our experiences in community. Whether you’re a SVARA newbie, or you’re a regular SVARA-nik, whether you’ve explored CRASH before, or this is your first time, we’d love to dive in and chart a path through the unknown together. Read more about the CRASH Talk, and register today!

Drop-In Mishnah Chaburah / Collective

Daily at 1:30 PM Eastern / 12:30 PM Central / 10:30 AM Pacific for 30 minutes
We meet daily (Sunday-Friday) to ground in our practice of learning & studying in community, digging into a mishnah each day from Pirkei Avot with SVARA faculty & your Queer Talmud comrades. **No prior Hebrew experience or learning necessary to participate!** | REGISTER HERE!

(NOTE: The Mishnah Collective will *not* be meeting on Thursday 4/9 or Friday 4/10, but we’ll pick back up on Sunday 4/12!)

Faculty One-On-One Meetings

Looking to grab a time to connect one-on-one with a SVARA faculty member? We’re here to sit with you, learn with you, and talk through whatever is coming up for you! Come with a text, a question, or just yourself! (You can use this time as fairy hours to help un-stick any text questions that are coming up for you, or you can use this time to have a chevruta or get some support from SVARA faculty.) | SIGN UP HERE!

Learn On Your Own!

Now is the moment to reach out, grab a virtual chevruta, and dig in. Looking for something to learn? We’re populating our resource page with goodies here, where you’ll find a marked-off daf (page of Talmud), a Hint Sheet, a Torah Verses Sheet, and lots of other goodies to help you on your traditionally radical way. If you get stuck and need a fairy, feel free to sign up for some time with a faculty member to help you out. | LEARN MORE HERE!