What To Expect

This Bet Midrash gathers for two and half hours daily. We will open our learning in a 15 minute combined Bet Midrash with both sections of Hardcore Talmud Intensive before splitting off into our own section. We will spend approximately half our time learning in chevruta (in pairs) and half in shiur (as a larger learning community). While you are, of course, welcome to deepen your learning outside the Bet Midrash, there is no expectation of additional study between sessions. Whether you’re new to learning Talmud or are a seasoned yeshiva-goer, we’ll do our best to support you at every step of the way to make sure you’re challenged at just the right level for you. Don’t know what any of these words mean or what we’re talking about? That’s perfect. You’re in the right place.

Additionally, an optional Supplemental Text Reading Club will dive into some commentaries to deepen our Talmud learning. No prep required! Reading Club meets Thursdays, August 12, 19, 26 | 2:45 – 4:00 PM ET | 1:45 – 3:00 PM CT | 11:45 AM – 1:00 PM PT

Here’s a reminder about the flow of our learning:

  • CHEVRUTA (PREP): When we gather on zoom, we will send you and your chevruta to a break-out room to prepare the session’s material for approximately one hour. Remember: you and your chevruta are just making best guesses! There’s no need to come to shiur with an understanding of the text! That’s what shiur is for.
  • SHIUR: When we return from chevruta, we’ll spend our second hour unpacking the text, building our collective understanding of what each of the words mean, and what they mean together.
  • CHEVRUTA (CHAZARA on previous material + PREP new material):  The following week in chevruta, you’ll start with chazara (review) where you’ll go back into the text to work on your understanding of it, and begin to internalize it to the point of memorization. You’ll then prep the new material!
  • And the cycle goes on and on!