About the Mixed Level Bet Midrash

Dates & Time: Mondays, August 9, 16, & 23, 8:00-10:00 PM ET | 7:00-9:00 PM CT | 5:00-7:00 PM PT

Facilitator: Bronwen Mullin

Course description: In this sugya (Talmud text), we’ll witness the Rabbis’ creation of teshuva (relational repair) out of a sacrificial system. As we track this journey, we’ll explore their understanding of what kind of person the Jewish tradition wants us to be, what kind of people we want to be, how our sages dealt with the slippery and messy reality of human relationships, and how the complexity of their world invites us to consider the complexity of our own world.

Welcome!

Welcome to the Mixed Level Bet Midrash! We’re so thrilled to be learning with you in the coming weeks. We’ve designed this Bet Midrash as an opportunity for learners of all levels & experiences to explore Talmud or develop their learning skills in a rigorous and joyful queer-normative community as we learn to become players in, with, and through the tradition. This bet midrash meets Mondays, August 9, 16, & 23, 8:00–10:00 PM ET | 7:00–9:00 PM CT | 5:00–7:00 PM PT.

If you’re new to learning with SVARA, our Orientation for New Learners will take place on Sunday, August 8, 7:00–9:00 PM ET | 6:00–8:00 PM CT | 4:00–6:00 PM PT.

If at any point you’re feeling lost or could use an extra boost, reach out to Bronwen. You can also grab time in fairy hours where our team is available to connect one-on-one & offer support for your learning or whatever’s on your mind.

Using this Portal

This portal should have all of the goodies you need as we navigate our online learning together! Use the menu on the left to help you find what you’re looking for: our weekly text breakdown, important links, etc! We’ll add more content as we get closer to our start date.