About the Bet Midrash

Dates & Time: Mondays and Wednesdays, February 14–April 6 (skip Feb. 21) | 11:30 AM-1:30 PM ET | 10:30-12:30 PM CT | 8:30-10:30 PM PT

Teacher: R’ Benay Lappe

About the text: How do we live in relation to the Torah when, at first read, the implications feel antithetical to our most basic values? In this shiur, we’ll look at how the Rabbis grapple with and use their svara to respond to and subvert the impact of Ben Sorer U’moreh, that infamous Torah text about the rebellious son that is sentenced to death. We’ll then explore the implications of their approach for us today, as we roll up our sleeves to bring a new set of queer, lefty, and radical values and sensibilities to the tradition.

Welcome!

Welcome to the Bet Midrash! We’re so thrilled to be learning with you in the coming weeks. We’ve designed this Bet Midrash as an opportunity for learners of all levels & experiences to explore Talmud or develop their learning skills in a rigorous and joyful queer-normative community as we learn to become players in, with, and through the tradition. 

If you’re new to learning with SVARA, our New SVARA-nik Orientation will take place on Sunday, February 13, 7:00–9:00 PM ET | 6:00–8:00 PM CT | 4:00–6:00 PM PT.

If at any point you’re feeling lost or could use an extra boost, reach out to Bronwen or a fairy. You can also grab time in fairy hours where our team is available to connect one-on-one & offer support for your learning or whatever’s on your mind.

Using this Portal

This portal should have all of the goodies you need as we navigate our online learning together! Use the menu on the left to help you find what you’re looking for: our weekly text breakdown, important links, etc! We’ll add more content as we get closer to our start date.