2022 Sum About the Bet Midrash

Dates & Time: Wednesday, June 15–July 20 | 2:00-4:00 PM ET | 1:00-3:00 PM CT | 11:00-1:00 PM PT

Teacher: R’ Becky Silverstein

Zoom Link: Access shiur here!

About the text: Dig into a sugya that—on the surface—deals with questions of wealth (re)distribution, justice, and giving tzedakah (just giving). We’ll structurally explore the nature of rabbinic logic and interpretation, and address core concepts related to kra-proofs and svara throughout our shiur.

Welcome!

Welcome to the Bet Midrash! We’re so thrilled to be learning with you in the coming weeks. We’ve designed this Bet Midrash as an opportunity for learners of all levels & experiences to explore Talmud or develop their learning skills in a rigorous and joyful queer-normative community as we learn to become players in, with, and through the tradition. 

If you’re new to learning with SVARA, our New SVARA-nik Orientation will take place on Thursday, June 9, 8:00–10:00 PM ET | 7:00–9:00 PM CT | 5:00–7:00 PM PT.

If at any point you’re feeling lost or could use an extra boost, reach out to Becky or a fairy. You can also grab time in fairy hours where our team is available to connect one-on-one & offer support for your learning or whatever’s on your mind.

Using this Portal

This portal should have all of the goodies you need as we navigate our online learning together! Use the menu on the left to help you find what you’re looking for: our weekly text breakdown, important links, etc! We’ll add more content as we get closer to our start date.