Queer Talmud Camp 2020: Diaspora Edition

Queer Talmud Camp is a gathering of queer folks, radicals, and seekers who come together for five days to immerse themselves in rigorous yeshiva-style learning in warm, loving, and joyful community. At Queer Talmud Camp we build a vibrant learning space that celebrates queer culture, cultivates inter-generational relationships, and reveals the deeply rooted radical queerness of the Jewish tradition.

While we are sad that we will not gather in person together, we are excited to be offering a new way to engage with the Queer Talmud Camp community this summer that honors and recognizes the changing circumstances in our society, and affirms our commitment to creating an accessible, joyful, vibrant intergenerational Queer community.

Queer Talmud Camp: Diaspora Edition is an online 5-day experience from August 2-6, 2020, where you’ll get the chance to connect to the tradition, Queer community, and yourselves through traditionally radical Talmud study.

REGISTER HERE!

The sliding scale fee for QTC: Diaspora Edition is $225-$500. As always, if you’d like to request a reduction in fees, that will be available and we are committed to making this program financially accessible to everyone who wants to join us. No one will be turned away for lack of funds.

Below is the draft schedule for our QTC: Diaspora Edition to help you decide if you’d like to register. If you do register, we ask that you plan to attend everything that is bold. The rest is elective!

SUNDAY, AUGUST 2 

3:00-4:15 ET | 2:00-3:15 CT | 12:00-1:15 PT  – Welcome to Queer Talmud Camp Community
5:00-6:30 ET | 4:00-5:30 CT | 2:00-3:30 PT – How to Learn Traditionally Radical Talmud
6:30 ET | 5:30 CT | 3:30 PT – Campfire & Singing

MONDAY, AUGUST 3

11:00-11:45 ET | 10:00-10:45 CT | 8:00-8:45 PT – Morning Spiritual Practice
12:00-3:00 ET | 11:00-2:00 CT | 9:00-12:00 PT – Bet Midrash
4:00-4:45 ET | 3:00-3:45 CT | 1:00-1:45 PT – Electives
8:00-9:30 ET | 7:00-8:30 CT | 5:00-6:30 PT – Queer Elders Sharing Stories

TUESDAY, AUGUST 4

11:00-11:45 ET | 10:00-10:45 CT | 8:00-8:45 PT – Morning Spiritual Practice
12:00-3:00 ET | 11:00-2:00 CT | 9:00-12:00 PT – Bet Midrash
4:00-4:45 ET | 3:00-3:45 CT | 1:00-1:45 PT – Electives
8:00-9:30 ET | 7:00-8:30 CT | 5:00-6:30 PT – Evening Program TBD

WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 5

11:00-11:45 ET | 10:00-10:45 CT | 8:00-8:45 PT – Morning Spiritual Practice
12:00-3:00 ET | 11:00-2:00 CT | 9:00-12:00 PT – Bet Midrash
4:00-4:45 ET | 3:00-3:45 CT | 1:00-1:45 PT – Electives
8:00-9:30 ET | 7:00-8:30 CT | 5:00-6:30 PT – Talent Show & Dance Party!

THURSDAY, AUGUST 6

11:00-11:45 ET | 10:00-10:45 CT | 8:00-8:45 PT – Morning Spiritual Practice
12:00-3:00 ET | 11:00-2:00 CT | 9:00-12:00 PT – Final Bet Midrash & Closing

 

 


MORE ABOUT QUEER TALMUD CAMP

Whether you’re an advanced Talmud learner or an absolute beginner, Queer Talmud Camp is for you! All you need is the ability to decode your alef-bet (i.e. sound out your Hebrew letters), and you’ll be learning Talmud in the original Hebrew/Aramaic. We guarantee it!

The bet midrash (learning space) is mixed-level: Beginners learn the Talmud text and Rashi, and the more advanced learners go beyond the Talmud and Rashi into codes and medieval commentaries. All texts are learned in the original Hebrew/Aramaic, without translation. But don’t let that scare you! Remember, even if you can only sound out your alef-bet, you can do this! 


Hear From Our Campers | Hear From Our Teachers

Check out pictures from Queer Talmud Camp 2019!

Walker Creek Ranch #1 Walker Creek Ranch #2 Isabella Freedman


Queer Talmud Camp is supported in part by generous grants from